What Does 8 Mean in the Bible?

Have you ever wondered why the number 8 appears so frequently in the Bible? From the eight people saved in Noah’s Ark to the Eight Beatitudes, the number 8 holds a special significance in the Christian faith. In this article, we will explore the spiritual meaning of the number 8 in the Bible and its relevance to our lives today.

The Symbolic Meaning of 8

In numerology, the number 8 represents new beginnings, resurrection, and regeneration. It is often associated with the concept of infinity, as the number 8 when turned on its side resembles the symbol for infinity. The number 8 is also considered to be a lucky number in many cultures, including China and Japan.

In the Bible, the number 8 is often associated with new beginnings and the start of a new era. For example, in the book of Genesis, God rested on the seventh day, and on the eighth day, he created Adam and Eve, marking the beginning of humanity. Similarly, circumcision was performed on the eighth day, symbolizing a new beginning and a covenant with God.

The Significance of 8 in Biblical Numerology

Biblical numerology is the study of the spiritual significance of numbers in the Bible. According to this discipline, the number 8 is a symbol of new life, new beginnings, and resurrection. It is associated with the idea of rebirth and regeneration, as seen in the story of Jesus’ resurrection on the eighth day.

In the Old Testament, the number 8 is also associated with the Feast of Tabernacles, which is celebrated on the eighth day after the seven-day feast. This festival symbolizes the final harvest and the coming of the Messiah, who will bring new life and new beginnings to the people of Israel.

The Spiritual Significance of 8 in the New Testament

In the New Testament, the number 8 is associated with the resurrection of Jesus Christ. According to the Bible, Jesus rose from the dead on the eighth day, which is also known as the first day of the week. This event marked a new beginning for humanity, as it symbolized the victory of life over death and the possibility of new beginnings for all of us.

The number 8 is also associated with baptism, which is considered to be a symbol of new life and a new beginning in the Christian faith. Baptism is often performed on the eighth day, symbolizing the start of a new life in Christ.

The Eight Beatitudes

The Eight Beatitudes are a set of blessings that Jesus gave to his disciples in the Sermon on the Mount. These blessings are considered to be a guide for Christian living and represent the eight virtues that are essential for a life of faith. The Eight Beatitudes are:

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs, is the kingdom of heaven.

2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

3. Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.

4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

5. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

8. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

The Number 888 in the Bible

The number 888 is a special number in the Bible, as it is the numerical value of the Greek word for Jesus, which is ΙΗΣΟΥΣ. This number is often referred to as the “number of Christ” and is considered to be a symbol of his divinity and power.

In the Book of Revelation, the number 888 is associated with the new Jerusalem, which is described as a city that is eight thousand stadia in length, width, and height. This city is a symbol of the new heaven and earth that will be created by God, representing a new beginning for all of humanity.

How Can We Apply the Spiritual Significance of 8 to Our Lives?

The spiritual significance of the number 8 teaches us that every new day is an opportunity for a new beginning, a chance to start fresh and make positive changes in our lives. We can apply this lesson by embracing change, letting go of the past, and looking forward to the future with hope and faith.

We can also apply the Eight Beatitudes to our lives by striving to live a life of humility, compassion, and righteousness. By practicing these virtues, we can cultivate a deeper relationship with God and experience the blessings of his grace and mercy.